Our Approach


The mission of the Maine Resource Recovery Association is to assist the Maine community with
implementing professional solid waste management systems that are environmentally and economically

Our Story

Our Goal

To promote sustainable materials management in Maine by providing
educational programs, materials brokering services, and planning tools to municipal and business
managers and to solid waste professionals.

Meet the Team

Office Staff


Victor Horton

Executive Director


Victor has worked for MRRA for over 18 years and, as it's Director for the past 15 years. He runs the Office and is Focused on Marketing Recyclables for MRRA Members. Including getting prices from markets, setting up transportation, tracking weights, Billing end users, and making payments to towns.

Jessica Haviland2

Jessica Haviland

Assistant Director


Jessica is new to the Recycling/Solid Waste industry.  She comes to us with a background of 20+ years in Musical Theatre, 9 years in the Healthcare industry, and 3 years in Retail Management.  She is excited to learn new things and see what we can all learn from each other.

Board of Directors

ross_bod photo-crop-u125828

Ross Nason


Ross was formerly the environmental planner for Kennebec Valley Council of Governments in Fairfield, ME, where he assisted 85 towns and cities in central Maine with various technical issues that include state and federal regulatory compliance; transfer station and recycling center planning and design; household hazardous waste collection, and universal waste management.



george_bod photo-crop-u111832

George Buswell

Vice President

George works for the Penobscot County Commissioners as the Deputy Director of the Unorganized Territory Administration. As a result, he is becoming more involved in the Solid waste and recycling issues in Penobscot county. They are hoping to find ways they can help towns to reach their goals and not sky rocket their MSW budgets. George has been in the industry for over 25 years and also serves on the Board of the Central Penobscot Solid Waste Facility.

trampas_bod photo

Trampas King


Trampas was recently appointed Town Manager of Dexter in August 2018. Prior to this role in his community he was employed as Superintendent of Mid Maine Solid Waste Association for 13 years. During his tenure at MMSWA he oversaw the operation of the facility and its one million dollar budget. He kept the facility in compliance with all local, state, federal regulations and managed the daily operations serving seven area communities. Trampas holds his associates degree in business
management  from Eastern Maine Community College.

Deborah Saber_0351 copy

Deborah Saber

Board Member

Debbie Saber has been an Assistant Professor in the School of Nursing at the University of Maine for three years. In 2016, she joined the Materials Management Research Group at The University of Maine’s Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainable Solutions as a healthcare industry expert working on projects and research aimed at environmental sustainability issues.

Kathryn Oak

Kathryn Oak

Board Member

Kathryn has 30 years solid waste experience.  She has managed a transfer station, a CDD landfill, and municipal composting.  Kathryn currently manages the City of Portland's Solid Waste Division and provides oversight and data management for the water quality monitoring of the Ocean Avenue landfill.  She began her career at ecomaine and served on their Safety and Environmental committees.  She also spent time at Riverside Recycling.  Kathryn has been fortunate enough to attend the world-renowned Compost School. She is a member of SWANA and ecomaine's Outreach and Recycling committee.  An extensive background in safety has benefited her experience in solid waste.

Lisa Sekulich

Lisa Sekulich

Board Member

Lisa is a 2003 graduate of Michigan State University with a BS in Civil Engineering. She spent her first 15 years working for Parsons Brinckerhoff in Construction Services where she oversaw various Road and Bridge Construction projects. Lisa moved to Maine in 2010 where she continued with PB/WSP as a consultant for MaineDOT and Maine Turnpike Authority.  In 2018 Lisa became Public Works Director for the City of Ellsworth and now oversees 5 departments; Highway, Water, Wastewater, Transfer Station, and Harbor.

Bill Lippincott

Bill Lippincott

Board Member

Bill has had an interest in recycling and solid waste/ materials management issues for over twenty years.  He has been on three State Solid Waste Task Forces, made numerous trips to the ENR Committee to testify and Listen to testimony on Materials Management and Recycling Legislation; was an active participant in a materials management/recycling group run by Travis Blackmer at the Mitchell Center a few years ago.  Bill is now involved in a group called Don’t waste ME.  He would like to see ways we can improve the implementation of the state’s solid waste hierarchy.

Bill has also made a living for the past 44 years buying and selling used and rare books and is always looking for ways to find homes for books, saving them from the dumpster, even if he has no interest in buying them for his stock.

Become a member

Join our community of recycling professionals!!